REVIEWS

Galloway Cycling Holidays
 
 
 

Belinda, Giselle and Nadia - NYC+ Basel, July 2018

Truly the most brilliant cycling holiday. Gorgeous riding country. Esther and Warren did an incredible job of mapping a lovely route for us. We stayed in fantastic places. Really wonderful experience - thank you Esther and Warren!

Google Review


Liz and Guy from Australia, June/July 2018

"Your description of today's ride was inaccurate. The views from the top were super spectacular not  just good! Red kites were also a highlight. Gatehouse looks lovely and the cake at the Mill is terrific. Cheers and thanks"

from an email

Galloway Cycling Holidays is run by Esther and Warren, a very switched on and friendly couple.
From the moment we arrived they made us feel special and extremely welcome. We loved our bikes which Warren took great care to set up for us and which he maintained throughout the week.
The planned tour, designed specifically for us, suited our fitness levels perfectly. It covered an amazingly scenic area, a real hidden gem of Scotland( and we have done many other tours of Scotland elsewhere) . The route covered a mixture of seascapes, hill tracks, forests and valleys and we passed many points of interest about which Esther and Warren were very knowledgeable. 
The little towns and villages were quaint and the chosen B and Bs were a good range of styles. Esther and Warren recommended lots of terrific coffee shops and interesting lunch venues.
We are already contemplating next year's tour with Galloway Cycling Holidays.

Review on Facebook


Ally + Andrew from Florida, June 2018

I really cannot say enough about what a great time we had cycling in the Dumfries/Galloway area with Galloway Cycling Holidays. We are a couple of experienced cyclists from Florida who live to explore new places on our bikes when we can get away from work. We typically do 2 self-contained bike tours a year, but this was our first overseas cycling trip. We joined a Galloway Cycling Holidays July 2018 tour at the invitation of a friend, on a whim, not sure what to expect. Our Galloway Cycling Holidays experience exceeded our expectations in every way. From the rental bikes, to the routes, the accommodations, our tour leaders' knowledge of local geography and history, and the superb weather they arranged for us, Warren and Esther did a stellar job! They "get it." They not only know the local cycling terrain, they know what cyclists want and need. Whether you prefer quiet rural roads, gravel single track, gnarly off-road, long, challenging climbs, a nice cafe stop for tea and a millionaire, or a little of everything, you will not be disappointed. They truly love Dumfries/Galloway, and want you to leave feeling that you have had a once in-a-lifetime cycling experience. And, we did.

Google Review


Patrick + 9 from Seattle - June 2018

I was recently part of a week-long bike tour led and organized by Warren and Esther. The hub of our tour was Kirkcudbright, a lovely, picturesque port town on the Southern tip of Scotland. It was an exhilarating experience. First, southern Scotland far exceeded my expectations, and would seem to be one of Scotland’s best kept secrets. It is ignored by most tourist books, and its low-density tourist population is one of its many charms. The beautiful countryside, its seaside towns and villages, the warmly welcoming locals, and low trafficked roads all served to make my recent visit truly extraordinary. I subsequently visited the highlands and the Hebrides, and much to my surprise, southern Scotland is the region I’d most readily return to. Beyond the beauty and wonder of the area, I owe much of my trip’s pleasure to Warren and Ester’s knowledgeable guidance and warm, gracious hosting. I can’t imagine better tour organizers!!! STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.

Google Review

Phyllis + 9 from Seattle - June 2018

What really made our week of bike touring in southwest Scotland were our hosts and guides, Warren and Esther. Their love of the Dumfries and Galloway region for bicycling, their in-depth knowledge of local culture and history (as well as where to find the best pubs and bakeries!)… and their sense of humor and personal attention to details resulted in a truly enjoyable experience. They led us through fantastic vistas on quiet country roads, castles, bookstores, and abbeys. Our tour was a hub-style week (where you get to unpack once for the entire week) at a charming self-catering inn, The Baytree House in Kirkcudbright. Galloway Cycling Holidays in this peaceful, uncrowded area of Scotland is a trip we will try to do again. 

Google review


Charlie + 9 from Seattle - June 2018

Southwest Scotland is an under discovered Mecca of quiet, scenic back country roads for bicycling. Our group signed up with Galloway Cycling Holidays. What a great idea that was! Esther & Warren (co-owners) took fabulous care of our group while taking us to amazing picturesque and historic sights. They even offer electric assist bicycles to level the hills for some and kept our group closer together. Their stories of their four year bicycling trip around the world kept us entertained. You might just find that the highlight of your trip is meeting Ester and Warren. It was for me.

Google review


Galloway Cycling.jpg

Ben + 9  from  Seattle - June 2018

Just spent a delightful week of cycling, eating and drinking on a Galloway Cycling Holiday tour. Our guides, Warren and Ester, were knowledgeable and fun and they obviously love this area of SW Scotland. And what’s not to love, beautiful vistas, historic castles, friendly locals, untrafficed roads, and seaside villages made each day a unique ride The town of Kirkcudbright is charming and well furnished with good restaurants and pubs. A week was not enough there.

Google review


Jerry + 10 from Texas + California - May, June 2018

The ten members of Team NV1 are having a wonderful adventure under the guidance, leadership, planning and logistical support of the GCH team. We all agree that this the best cycling experience ever!

Facebook review


Donald + 5 from Clackmannashire - May 2018

Absolutely Fantastic Experience. I along with 5 cycle mad friends booked with Warren and Esther of Galloway Cycling Holidays because we were looking for something 'different'. We were not disappointed. From the point of contact through email's and phone calls to the point of saying cheerio, Warren and Esther were fantastic hosts with a wealth of local and cycle knowledge. They organised our hotel accommodation which was first class and planned and guided us through three different, but equally challenging and scenic cycle routes. They looked after the fast and not so fast within our group which was well appreciated. I could go on and on. Our group had a most memorable weekend in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. We will certainly be back next year.

Google review

Ross - "the Donald Group"

Fantastic holiday with this company from start to finish , it's was very clear our trip was carefully planned out from making sure someone was there to welcome us , giving us wonderful accommodation , kept our group together , well planned out routes

Facebook review


J. from Edinburgh - April 2018

Thank you for great two days, your patience, encouragement and great great routes.  [...]

J.

Otterpools.jpg

Galloway Cycling Holidays

BOB from Florida - June 2017

[...] Sorry it's over, it was great, can't wait to do it again. Looking for riders and friends for next year.


Jane - May 2017

It was a great experience challenging rewarding Thank you...

The directions and maps were great we only went wrong just outside Kirkubright and missed a turn around Townhead and on the last day missed part of the no 7 route before Annan, so we missed the right turn and stayed on the road.

Accommodation was all well organised, the Steam packet Inn was the least favourite, old fashioned / dirty and not so welcoming ( however not always much to chose from) , but all others great especially Kirkcudbright.

Drop off, hospitality and bag moves brilliant

Weather perfect 

Highly recommended as a company

Please edit and use as you please, several friends interested already

Jane

Galloway Cycling Holidays.jpg

Galloway Cycling Holidays

Donald and Ross from Clackmannanshire - May 2017

In May 2017

[...]

On the Saturday morning your briefing as to the route we were going to cycle put us in a positive frame of mind. The route was both interesting and scenic despite the miserable weather.

As you knowthe weather brightened up on the Saturday afternoon and right through all day on Sunday. Every route you took us was interesting, safe and was fun. Your knowledge of the beautiful area in which you live is incredible. In the short time we were with you, you were certainly quick in identifying what was of interest and relevant to both my friend and I.

Meeting the other couple who also took part on the cycle weekend was an added bonus we did not expect. They were extremely interesting people and only added further to what was a memorable weekend.

All the best for the future and hopefully we will be back in touch soon to book again with ‘’Galloway Cycling Holidays’ next year.

Regards

Donald and Ross


Niels and Karen Schjørring from Silkeborg, Denmark - July 2016

The roads: We enjoyed to cycle on the small narrow roads. It was peaceful and there were only few cars, and when they appeared, the drives paid attention towards us. The nature was beautiful. Green curved hills, sheep, wild life, Galloway cows, birds (Red kites), and plants. We made many stops to watch the animals, see the plants and to take pictures. We also enjoyed the possibility to take a DEROUTE, when we found something of interest to see on the description or when we had energy and time to take the DEROUTE.

The Description of the Route: It was a very detailed description of the route to follow every day. We had no problem in following it, it was also a big help to have the detailed map of the area, where we were going to pass through. And the introduction to the material the first evening, was also helpful.

Niels and Karen Schjørring, Silkeborg, Denmark July 2016

Galloway Cycling Holidays

Britain crowded? Not in Galloway….

Galloway Cycling Holidays

It is one of the most enjoyable trips I’ve ever done, anywhere in the world: a four-day coast to coast across one of Scotland’s underrated marvels, on and off road. It involved awesome scenery, an epic pub stop, a gold rush, and high jinks with spades.

Glentrool – it’s one of many little-touristed, little-known places here that would be hectic honey pots if they were a few miles south in the English Lakes.

It’s astonishing that such fabulously explorable country, just an easy train ride away (from England),  gets so few visitors. You’ll likely have it all to yourself.

-         Rob Ainsley, ‘Cycle’ magazine, September 2015.

This is not a review of one of our holidays, just a recent view of our area from excerpts in an article by experienced journalist / cyclist Rob Ainsley